Guangzhou Shamian tourist area
Shamian was originally a sandbank formed by the Pearl River alluvial, early called Zhongliusha, Shicui Zhou. From the Song Dynasty to the Qing Dynasty, this place was Guangzhou's foreign trade hub. After the Opium War, the Qing government was forced to agree to "rent" Shamian to the British and French imperialists, and the area was reduced to the Anglo-French concession and changed to its current name.
In 1859-1862, the excavation of the sandface bore separated the sandface from the north bank of the Pearl River, and only a stone bridge was built in the east to connect with the north bank. Now Shamian has a total of 8 main streets and roads, including Shamian North Street, Shamian Street and Shamian South Street, which run east-west, and Shamian First to Fifth Street, which run north-south. On the east, north and west sides, there are East Bridge, West Bridge and New West Bridge respectively connected with the 623 Road. The green trees on the island, the environment is elegant, there are the Win hotel, Shamian hotel, White Swan Hotel, Guangzhou International Seafarers Club, the Polish Consulate in Guangzhou, North Korea import and export business, China-Poland shipping company Guangzhou office, Shamian tennis court, Shamian swimming pool and other buildings and foreign affairs units and sports and entertainment facilities.
Shamian is of great significance in the modern history of China. Therefore, the most noteworthy aspect of Shamian is its control planning area, which belongs to the category of national key cultural relics protection, including the foreign concession buildings built in modern Shamian. This area was designated as a foreign concession in 1859. Since then, there have been British, French, American, German, Japanese, Italian, Dutch, Portuguese and other consulates, banks and foreign banks. After the victory of the Anti-Japanese War in 1945, it was taken over by the Kuomintang government. Many of the old buildings are western classical patterns.
White Goose Pool, Pearl River Chachou, Liwan District, Guangzhou
Walk about 90 meters from Guangzhou Railway Station to Guangzhou Railway Station, take No. 823 (take 11 stops), get off at the City Hospital of Traditional Chinese Medicine Station, and walk about 110 meters to Shamian Island.
Disclaimer: All information on this website is collected from the Internet, which does not represent our opinion. This website is not responsible for its authenticity and legitimacy. If any information violates your rights and interests, please inform us and we will deal with it immediately.